Press Release: June 6, 2012

2012 Winners Announced in Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management

Media Sponsors:


June 6, 2012?Boston, Mass. The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) announced today at ACM Live the winners of the 2012 Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management. Co-sponsored by WfMC and KMWorld, these prestigious awards recognize user organizations worldwide that have demonstrably excelled in implementing innovative ACM solutions.

Last year WfMC inaugurated a new Global Awards program for Adaptive Case Management (ACM) case studies to recognize and focus upon ACM use cases. Adaptive Case Management, also known as Dynamic or Advanced Case Management, represents a radical new approach to supporting knowledge workers in today's leading edge organizations. ACM provides secure, social collaboration to create and adapt goal-oriented activities that enable informed decision-making using federated business data and content.

Finalists and winners were selected by a panel of 16 judges drawn from experts in this field, headed by an Advisory Panel comprising Tom Koulopoulos, Delphi Group, Hugh McKellar, KMWorld and Connie Moore, Forrester Research.

"These winners showcase adaptive case management at its very best, and I believe, raise the bar for all BPM software vendors, "says Connie Moore, Vice President and Principal Analyst, Forrester Research. "Why? Because these companies have automated complex, customer-facing processes that take the drudgery and inefficiency out of work while providing an unprecedented automation level for business flexibility, compliance and transparency. These solutions are not BPMS as usual; they integrate the best of both worlds?human decision-making and automation?empowering the workforce to apply human judgment to complex situations while also automating complex work flows between customers, partners, external parties and managing the interrelationships between high volumes of documents, data, collaboration artifacts and other information."

Another judge noted the convergence of capabilities presented through ACM, combining distinct yet complementary technology streams.

"An old joke about knowledge management goes something like this: Ask five different analysts to define it and you'll get seven different answers," says Hugh McKellar, editor-in-chief of KMWorld. "Just as KM isn't purely content or document management, Adaptive Case Management is not merely sophisticated workflow or robust and versatile business process management. I believe ACM, like KM, combines an organization's central nervous system and its circulatory system, as these winners clearly exemplify. All are to be commended for advancing both adaptive case management and knowledge management."

  • There are four ACM categories with an honorary category:

    • Customer Facing
    • Healthcare
    • Knowledge Worker Innovation
    • Public Sector
    • Honorary Category: Production Case Management

More details on case study requirements and the winners can be found online at Finalists receive additional recognition by having their case studies published in the 2012 edition in the ACM Excellence Series by Future Strategies Inc., following the best-seller "Taming the Unpredictable" in 2011.

The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) and KMWorld jointly sponsor the annual Global Awards for Excellence in ACM. The Awards program is managed by Future Strategies Inc.

Layna Fischer, Awards Director
Future Strategies Inc.
awards @

Tel: +1 954 782 3376

Announcements 2012

June 6: Award winners announced May 23: Finalists announced

Main Awards Categories

  • Customer Facing
  • Public Sector
  • Legal and Courts
  • Healthcare and Medical
  • Knowledge Worker Innovation

Awards Program Committee

Marco Brambilla
Fred Cummins
Henk de Man
David Duggal
Keith Harrison-Broninski
Sandy Kemsley
Dana Khoyi
Alberto Manuel
John Matthias
Dermot McCauley
Frank Michael Kraft
Nathaniel Palmer
Max Pucher (committee leader )
Tom Shepherd
Keith Swenson
Jacob Ukelson
Karl Walter Keirstead
Chuck Webster