Press Release: June 22, 2011

2011 Winners Announced in Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management

Media Sponsors:


June 22, 2011?Boston, Mass.The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) is pleased to announce the winners for the 2011 Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management. The winners were announced today at the ACMLive Summit and details will be published in the September issue of KMWorld. Noted expert on Innovation, Tom Koulopoulos of Delphi Group, hosted the ACM awards as part of the two-day ACMLive Summit.

This year WfMC inaugurated a new Global Awards program for Adaptive Case Management (ACM) case studies to recognize and focus upon ACM use cases. Adaptive Case Management, also known as Dynamic or Advanced Case Management, is a new technological approach to supporting knowledge workers in today's leading edge organizations. These prestigious awards recognize user organizations that have demonstrably excelled in implementing innovative ACM solutions. Award submissions were received from organizations worldwide, with finalists spanning the Americas, Europe, Africa and Asia.

The winners for 2011 Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management are:

  • Category: Customer Facing
    Award: GOLD
    Univ? Verzekeringen, Netherlands, nominated by EMC Corporation, USA
  • Category: Innovation
    Award: GOLD
    BAA Heathrow, United Kingdom nominated by Pegasystems, Inc., USA
  • Category: Legal and Courts
    Award: GOLD
    Lakshmi Kumaran & Shridharan, India, nominated by Newgen Software Technologies, India
    Award: SILVER
    Pinellas County Clerk of the Circuit Court, Florida, USA, nominated by Global 360, USA
  • Category: Medical and Healthcare
    Award: GOLD
    Velindre - Cardiff University Integrated Care Pathway, UK, nominated by Cardiff School of Computer Science & Informatics, Cardiff University, United Kingdom. Read Cardiff News Article on Award.
  • Category: Public Sector
    Award: GOLD
    Los Angeles County Information Systems Advisory Body (ISAB) USA, nominated by Global 360, USA

"ACM represents a radical new approach for managing knowledge work," said lead judge Keith Swenson. "Tools for knowledge work to date have focused exclusively on the process, that is, the sequence, timing, and flow of information. Tools for knowledge work in the future have to focus primarily on the work, that is, the tools, methods, connections, and judgment needed to act on the information."

WfMC Executive Director and industry analyst Nathaniel Palmer noted, "ACM takes knowledge and process management to the next level by bringing together the tools that support knowledge work. The result is a comprehensive approach to the way we build, deploy and use enterprise information management systems. It's as revolutionary for the way we work as the Internet was to the way we share and connect," said Palmer. "There are already over 30 vendors focused on ACM. Leading analysts such as Forrester and Gartner are now following ACM."

Submissions were evaluated by a panel of experts, following a scoring model along various metrics, grouping into the three categories of Innovation, Adaptability and Impact (details on the evaluation criteria and the panel of judges can be found at ??

The ACMLive Summit continues through June 23 at The event is presented directly live online using the DelphiTV platform and registrants can participate in live video, open Q&A, solution demos, social interaction and much more.

The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) and KMWorld jointly sponsor the annual Global Awards for Excellence in ACM. The Awards program is managed by Future Strategies Inc.

Layna Fischer, Awards Director
Future Strategies Inc.
awards @

Tel: +1 954 782 3376

Announcements 2011

June 22: Award winners announced June 1: Finalists announced

Main Awards Categories

  • Customer Facing
  • Public Sector
  • Legal and Courts
  • Healthcare and Medical
  • Knowledge Worker Innovation

Awards Program Committee

Marco Brambilla
Fred Cummins
Henk de Man
David Duggal
Keith Harrison-Broninski
Sandy Kemsley
Dana Khoyi
Alberto Manuel
John Matthias
Dermot McCauley
Frank Michael Kraft
Nathaniel Palmer
Max Pucher (committee leader )
Tom Shepherd
Keith Swenson
Jacob Ukelson
Karl Walter Keirstead
Chuck Webster