Press Release: June 1, 2011

2011 Finalists Announced in Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management

Media Sponsors:


June 1, 2011�Boston, Mass.� The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2011 Global Awards for Excellence in Adaptive Case Management.
This year WfMC inaugurated a new Global Awards program for Adaptive Case Management (ACM) case studies to recognize and focus upon ACM use cases. Adaptive Case Management, also known as Dynamic or Advanced Case Management, is a new technological approach to supporting knowledge workers in today's leading edge organizations. ACM represents a radical new approach for managing knowledge work. Tools for knowledge work to date have focused exclusively on the process, that is, the sequence, timing, and flow of information. Tools for knowledge work in the future have to focus primarily on the work, that is, the tools, methods, connections, and judgment needed to act on the information.
Co-sponsored by WfMC and KMWorld, these prestigious awards recognize user organizations that have demonstrably excelled in implementing innovative ACM solutions. The nine 2011 finalists are:

  • Achievement Awards Group (Pty) Ltd., South Africa, nominated by P�tanque Consultancy, South Africa
  • BAA Heathrow, United Kingdom, nominated by Pegasystems, Inc., USA
  • Velindre - Cardiff University Integrated Care Pathway, UK, nominated by Cardiff School of Computer Science & Informatics, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
  • Lakshmi Kumaran & Shridharan, India, nominated by Newgen Software Technologies, India
  • Los Angeles County Department of Public Social Services (DPSS) USA, nominated by KANA, USA
  • Los Angeles County Information Systems Advisory Body (ISAB) USA, nominated by Global 360, USA
  • Payment Exception Processing System, USA, nominated by Virtusa Corporation, USA
  • Pinellas County Clerk of the Circuit Court, Florida, USA, nominated by Global 360, USA
  • Univ� Verzekeringen, Netherlands, nominated by EMC Corporation, USA

Lead Judge Keith Swenson commented on the strength of the entries, "The cases are a good representation of the fundamental shift we are seeing in the marketplace today," said Swenson. "The trend is from predefined fixed applications to flexible agile solutions to support knowledge workers."
Winners will be announced at a special virtual awards ceremony on June 22 at ACMLive. The ACMLive event is a two-day online event brought directly to attendees using the powerful DelphiTV platform where they will be able to participate in live video, open Q&A, solution demos, social interaction and much more. Register for the ACMLive event at . �

There are five final categories this year:

  • Customer Facing
  • Public Sector
  • Legal and Courts
  • Healthcare and Medical
  • Innovation

WfMC Executive Director, Nathaniel Palmer noted, "ACM takes knowledge and process management to the next level by bringing together the tools that support knowledge work. The result is a comprehensive approach to the way we build, deploy and use enterprise information management systems. It's as revolutionary for the way we work as the Internet was to the way we share and connect," said Palmer. "There are already 30 vendors focused on ACM. Leading analysts such as Forrester and Gartner have started following ACM."
Finalists were selected by a panel of judges drawn from the experts in this field. More details on case study requirements and the finalists can be found online at Finalists receive additional recognition by having their case studies published in the first annual edition of ACM Excellence in Practice by Future Strategies Inc.

The Workflow Management Coalition (WfMC) and KMWorld jointly sponsor the annual Global Awards for Excellence in ACM. The Awards program is managed by Future Strategies Inc.

Layna Fischer, Awards Director
Future Strategies Inc.
awards @

Tel: +1 954 782 3376

Announcements 2011

June 22: Award winners announced June 1: Finalists announced

Main Awards Categories

  • Customer Facing
  • Public Sector
  • Legal and Courts
  • Healthcare and Medical
  • Knowledge Worker Innovation

Awards Program Committee

Marco Brambilla
Fred Cummins
Henk de Man
David Duggal
Keith Harrison-Broninski
Sandy Kemsley
Dana Khoyi
Alberto Manuel
John Matthias
Dermot McCauley
Frank Michael Kraft
Nathaniel Palmer
Max Pucher (committee leader )
Tom Shepherd
Keith Swenson
Jacob Ukelson
Karl Walter Keirstead
Chuck Webster